Words by Bloomsbury | Mar 16 2023

The announcement comes as Maas signs new four book deal with Bloomsbury. 

Bloomsbury has today announced the third instalment in international bestseller Sarah J Maas’s blockbuster Crescent City series, which will be titled House of Flame and Shadow and will be published on 30th January 2024.

House of Flame and Shadow will continue the story of half-Fae, half-human Bryce Quinlan, who finds herself stranded in a strange new world, far from her family, friends and Hunt, her partner. While she must use all her wits to find her way home, Hunt is trapped in a dungeon, stripped of freedom and without a clue as to Bryce’s fate. With House of Flame and Shadow, the Crescent City series reaches new heights as Bryce and Hunt’s world is brought to the brink of collapse – with its fate resting on their shoulders.

Bloomsbury has also announced the signing of a further four book deal with Maas, in addition to the three books currently under contract, cementing the long-term strategy to grow her brand around the world. The deal was brokered by Robin Rue at Writers House.

Bloomsbury Publishing

Kathleen Farrar, MD of Group Sales & Marketing

The Crescent City series offers readers an absorbing fantasy world, unforgettable characters, searing romance and showstopping action, and it is this heady combination which has made it an international bestseller. Working with Sarah and continuing to build a global brand for her and her titles is one of the great privileges at Bloomsbury, and we are so pleased to continue on this journey with her.

Sarah J Maas is an international bestselling author, whose Throne of Glass, Court of Thorns and Roses, and Crescent City series have sold more than twenty six million copies worldwide and been translated into thirty seven languages, with combined views of Maas related hashtags on TikTok currently standing at over 11.5 billion views. House of Flame and Shadow is the third book in the Crescent City series, following House of Earth and Blood and House of Sky and Breath, with the latter being an instant Sunday Times number one bestseller and the eighth bestselling hardback book of 2022 in the UK.

The publication of House of Flame and Shadow in the UK will be supported by a huge marketing and publicity campaign, further details of which will be announced later this year.

About Sarah J Maas

Sarah J. Maas is the #1 New York Times and internationally bestselling author of the Throne of Glass, Court of Thorns and Roses, and Crescent City series. Her books have sold millions of copies and are published in thirty eight languages. She lives in California with her family.


Facebook: theworldofsarahjmaas

Instagram: sarahjmaas


Throne of Glass series:

Throne of Glass

Crown of Midnight

Heir of Fire

Queen of Shadows

Empire of Storms

Tower of Dawn

Kingdom of Ash

The Assassin's Blade


A Court of Thorns and Roses series:

A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Mist and Fury

A Court of Wings and Ruin

A Court of Frost and Starlight

A Court of Silver Flames


Crescent City series:

House of Earth and Blood

House of Sky and Breath

House of Flame and Shadow (2024)

More news

See more

Free US delivery on orders $35 or over